John & Dulcie Walker Road Race for 2017 Willesden will be holding their annual John and Dulcie Walker road races on Sunday, 24th September 2017

Venue:   Little Milton Village Hall, Thame Road, Little Milton, Oxfordshire, OX44  7PZ

Dulcie Walker Memorial Road Race
(Regional B, Band 4: 3/4/J)
Start 9:30am
(sign-on 8.30am to 9:00am)
* * * Prizes from 1st to 15th * * *

John Walker Trophy Road Race
120 km

(National B, Band 2: E/1/2)
Start 01:30pm
(sign-on 12:15pm to 1:00pm)

* * * Prizes from 1st to 15th ***

The Course

WCC RR Course 2015

  • The anticlockwise circuit starts on the A329, north of Little Milton, heading south through the village.
  • It then turns east onto the B480 at Stadhampton, running south-east past the southern boundary of Chalgrove Airfield.
  • The route the turns left off the B480 on to an unclassified road, heading north-east to Stoke Talmage, crossing Haseley Brook and then passing under the M40 before turning north-west onto the A40 (Tetsworth High Street).
  • The circuit continues west along the A40, crossing the finish line that is approximately 200m to the east of the junction of the A40 with the A329.
  • The route then turns south-west, back over the M40, then along the A329 to complete the lap in Little Milton.
  • There are no significant climbs to negotiate.

Race HQ and Sign-on

The Race HQ is at –

The Pine Lodge,
Little Milton Village Hall,
Thame Road,
Little Milton,
OX44 7PZ

WCC Race HQ - The Pine Lodge, Little Milton

Vital Race Day Information

  • Sign On : Please sign on at least 30 minutes before the start of the race. Failure to do so may result in the race organiser giving your number to a reserve rider.
  • Parking: Please ensure that you park only in the field adjacent to the Village Hall/Race HQ. The main car park will be reserved for official race vehicles only.
  • Race Detritus: OK, so this is a posh name for rubbish. Please take away all of your junk. Empty gel packs should be put back in your pocket after use – please do not litter.
  • Finish line: Sorry but we need to keep this as clear as a whistle for the safety of everyone. So please go straight to the HQ after the finish of the race – please do not wait for friends at the finish line.
  • Catering : There will be an  array of delicious fare will include tea, coffee, sandwiches, plus cakes, cakes and more cakes!

Race History and Trophies

The Willesden Cycling Club was founded in 1927 and our annual road race day is one of the premier events in our calendar. On race day we will have two trophies to contest, they are –

The “John Walker” Trophy

This is a E/1/2 Road race and is the main event of the day.

The winner will have their name engraved on the the prestigious and impressive trophy, which is a salute to a much loved club member, Mr John Walker.

John Walker was a great wit and raconteur in the Willesden CC and for many years he was the Master of Ceremonies at our annual club dinner. John was an avid jazz fan and his bike was badged up as a Stan Getz to honour the great American jazz saxophonist. John was also a creative and artistic person who had a talent for airbrushing incredibly intricate and dark satanic designs on to custom motorbikes.

John Walker Trophy – previous winners

2016 Matthew Cronshaw – Madison Genesis

2015 Tristan Robbins – Madison Gesesis

2014 Elliot Porter, JLD Condor

2013 Lewis Atkins, Pedal Heaven RT

2012 Matt Cronshaw, Node 4 Giordana RT

2010 David Mclean, Velosport Pasta Montegrappa

2009 Marcin Bialoblocki, Wilier Live to Ride

2008 Dan Staite, Python Racing Team

2007 Clive Nicholls

2006 Race cancelled

2005 Robert Hud, Bioagrico Fabelec Selexion

2004 Colin Roshier, Team Quest

2003 Danny Axford, Arctic Tacx RT

2002 Mark Lovatt, Compensation Group RT

2001 Justin Hoy, Evans Cycles RT

2000 Danny Axford, Arctic Tacx RT

1999 Gordon McCauley, Kingsnorth International Wheelers

1998 George Rose, Cardiff JIF


The “Dulcie Walker” Memorial Road Race

This is a 3/4/W/J race to identify the stars of tomorrow. The winner will have their name

engraved on the “Dulcie Walker Poniard” (a ceremonial tapered knife). Dulcie Walker was John Walker’s mother. She is also remembered as a quite a character and is thought to be the first woman to hold a motor cycle licence in the UK.

Previous winners –

2016 James Thorp-Kinsley – Watford Velo Sport

2015 Luke Souter – Shutte Velo Rapide

2014  Alexander Evangelidis. London Dynamo

2013 Tim Edwards, LBRCC

2012 Richard Stanton, Arbis LLP Roy Pink Cycles

2010 Roger Prior, Zappi’s Cycling Club

2009 Thomas Moore, Cambridge University CC

2008 Ben De Wet

2007 Roy Chamberlain, Alpha Road Club

2006 Race cancelled

2005 John Wager

2004 Marc Freullet, Team Quest

2003 Thomas Wright, Oxford City RC

2002 Simon Henley, Evans RT

2001 Ashlet Freeman

2000 Adam Henley, Team Milton Keynes

1999 Martin Freeman, Wills Wheels CC

Event Details

Event URN:
Start Date:
Sun, 18th Sep 2016
Event Type:
Road (Competitive)
Little Milton Village Hall, Thame Road, Little Milton, Oxfordshire, OX44 7PZ
Central Road Race League
Entry close date
Mon, 11th Sep 2017
Event Organiser:
Jayne Paine
Cheques payable to:
enter online at British Cycling
Online entry method:
Organiser selects entrants

This entry was posted in Miscellaneous, Road Racing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.