Dinner and Dance – Jan 2008

The Uxbridge Golf Club survived another onslaught from the Willesden CC on 19th January for our annual Dinner and Dance. As usual there was a last minute flurry in ticket sales and around 60 of the WCC finest settled down for an evening of prize giving, dining, raffles, dances, speeches, toasting, wine tasting, beer tasting and on occasions Sambuca tasting.

Our Guest of Honour this year was John McMillan. John gave an excellent speech that recounted many of the clubs achievements during the year. He also presented all of the trophies to the club’s champions. Well Done John!

A big thank you must also go to Gladys and Hilary who organised the event. Unfortunately Hilary had to return to her work in deepest Siberia, so was unable to attend. Jim and Wendy did a great job with the raffle and there was a vast array of prizes to be won.

Mike celebrating his lofty new status as a Willesden Grandee, or Life Membership as it is officially called.

Ian and Pauline Why also become Willesden “Lifers”, following 21 years of continuous membership.
After 21 years of stealth membership Nigel Haselden broke his cover to receive his Life time Membership.
The Sash of Honour was awarded to Ray Kelly for all his work for the club during the past year.
Gladys gave a very warm speech welcoming all non-members to the evening’s proceedings.

L to R John McMillan, Jimmy Love (Club President) and Janice Kelly (Mrs Sash-of-Honour)

John presents Sean Bannister with a CTC award for the best passing impression of Bruce Forsyth.

Ron Purdy scoops the Marshalling trophy

Richard Jerome accepts the Mens Road Race Trophy. Well done Richard and keep those race reports coming through.

Peter Turnbull is the WCC’s Audax champion and also has retained the UK’s Audax championship for a second year running. An impressive achievement.

Brian Moon is always a trophy winner at the D&D. This year he collects the Veterans Time Trial Championship

Chris James, known to all of us as Jumbo James receives his award.

Ed Packard wins a sack full of trophies for –
Mens Time Trial Champion (24.72 mph)
Dunning Cup (Fastest 25 mile TT)
Alf Peyton Cup (Fastest 50 mile TT)
Palmer Trophy (Fastest 100 miles TT).
Another trophy for Ed

Darlene Rini gets the Ladies Audax trophy for the most number of points in a season. She also received the Audax Merit trophy for completing the Paris-Brest-Paris within 80 hours even though operating mainly on Pacific Coast time!

Jayne Paine won the Ladies Road Race Championship, retaining it from the previous year.

Exhausted (Ed-huasted?) by the weight of his trophy haul, Ed is supported by the Purdys
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dinner and Dance – Jan 2008

  1. Edward says:

    It’s all coming back to me now…

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.